## I MINA'TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2011 (FIRST) Regular Session

## Resolution No. 115-31 (COR)

Introduced by: Aline A. Yamashita, Ph.D.

T. C. Ada

V. Anthony Ada

F. F. Blas, Jr.

B. J.F. Cruz

Chris M. Dueñas

Sam Mabini, Ph.D.

Judith P. Guthertz, DPA

T. R. Muña Barnes

Adolpho B. Palacios, Sr.

v. c. pangelinan

R. J. Respicio

Dennis G. Rodriguez, Jr.

M. Silva Taijeron

Judith T. Won Pat, Ed.D.

Relative to commending Dr. John Sanchez, Program Chair of the University of Guam School of Education Master of Arts in Teaching Program; and to further congratulating the First Graduates of the Masters of Arts in Teaching Program.

## BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF I

## 2 MINA'TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:

- WHEREAS, the teaching profession continues to be a crucial component of the
- 4 foundation of our democratic society;
- WHEREAS, the shifting landscape of families, economics, schooling, and
- 6 societal norms influences the required competencies and attitudes of the teaching
- 7 profession;

WHEREAS, across the globe, higher educational institutions have implemented relevant, meaningful programs that meet these shifts in a profession that continues to address recruitment and retention challenges;

WHEREAS, the University of Guam, School of Education Masters of Arts in Teaching is one such program;

WHEREAS, the Masters of Arts in Teaching program prepares candidates with an undergraduate degree in other fields for the world of teaching as certified secondary classroom teachers;

WHEREAS, in 2007, Dr. John Sanchez initiated this program when he developed and implemented an accelerated certification program, also known as Fast Track, and he field-tested this alternative method of teacher preparation for those professionals seeking a career change over a three (3) year period, resulting in the certification of teachers in secondary education.

WHEREAS, Dr. John Sanchez used this knowledge and experience in the Fast Track program to create the Master of Arts in Teaching, which met the same certification goal, but also permitted the graduates to obtain a Master's Degree which focused upon theory, pedagogy, research, and practicum in issues relevant to the 21<sup>st</sup> Century, such as technology and diversity;

WHEREAS, three (3) cohorts have completed the certification program since its inception in October 2009, and we celebrate the first cohort of twenty-four (24) teachers who have completed the Master of Arts in Teaching program in May 2011; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED,** that the Committee on Rules of *I Mina'Trentai Unu Na Liheslaturan Guåhan* does hereby, on behalf of *I Liheslaturan Guåhan* and the people of Guam, recognize, commend and thank Dr. John Sanchez, Program Chair for the University of Guam School of Education Master of Arts in Teaching program for his

- 1 leadership in the development and implementation of this innovative teacher
- 2 preparation program; and does further congratulate the first Graduating Cohort of the
- 3 Master of Arts in Teaching Hedi Frieders, Roy Ausec, Evelyn V. Caraig, Gemma Vi
- 4 Doculan, Catherine Erne, Denise Sulla Mathews, Lorena Morgan, Martina J. Nelson,
- 5 Gloria P. Obias, Yvonne Patnude, Flora-Rose Paulino, Frankie Perez, Ellen A. Petra,
- 6 Karrie Runles, Juan P. Serrano, Catherine B. Techaira, Sheena Unangst, Erika Becht
- 7 Dooley, Clint Gianchand, Sabina F. Perez, Sung Yul Kim, Ervin Santiago, Amanda
- 8 G. Sanchez Wooley, and Maria Christina R. Diaz; and does commend them for their
- 9 commitment to building the future of our island; and be it further
- 10 **RESOLVED**, that the Speaker and Chairperson of the Committee on Rules
- 11 certify, and the Legislative Secretary attest to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of
- the same be thereafter transmitted to Dr. John Sanchez; and to the Honorable Edward
- 13 J.B. Calvo, I Maga'lahen Guåhan.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF I MINA'TRENTAL UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THE 24<sup>TH</sup> DAY OF MAY 2011.

JUDITH T. WON PAT, Ed.D.

Speaker

RORY J. RESPICIO

Chairperson, Committee on Rules

TINA ROSE MUÑA BARNES Legislative Secretary